lethargic

effddff2b29411e2a84022000aa8048a_7It has been a while since my last post, as I have been (semi) busy preparing for the postgraduate exhibition, opening on 18th May. This week my tutor lent me a frame from my work, and decided to stick my work haphazardly inside until I was able to buy some more mount card to float-mount the piece. The plastic folder I kept it in is stuck in the frame, too … for now. Today I cut some mount card down to the right size and hopefully next week I will attach everything…

Lately I’ve been feeling tired and I have found it difficult to motivate myself to do any university work and I have even had problems with drawing… a little bit. I have been trying to keep up with sketching, at least. I think I’m feeling this way because it is coming to the end of the Spring term, the exhibition is on the way and I have finished the drawing part. What’s left as I have said is the preparation, which usually involves money, asking loads of questions around the department, borrowing tools off people and feeling slightly impatient.

I haven’t really had much on my to do list lately, it has all been little errands, but I have struggled a bit with too, probably due to my own laziness – either that or I burned myself out this term. We have one more term after this, during the summer (no breaks!) and then after that is the final exhibition. Thankfully I just have to make art over summer, no other modules like teaching experience or art history to worry about. I do like both these modules but it might be nice to just have one thing alone to focus myself.

sketch card for my japanese teacher

sketch card for my japanese teacher

We had our last Japanese lesson on Tuesday evening, as our tutor has to fly back to Tokyo to visit her mother over summer. I’m thinking of ways to keep studying Japanese by myself now. I know that classes aren’t always ideal learning environments anyway, but I think I will miss the social aspect of it. I hope to save up for a book which will help take my grammar to the next level. It’s a bit patchy thanks to the combination of self study and classroom work. Every week I also try to complete some lessons on textfugu.com, although I’m reaching the final ones now.

Maybe I need a break or maybe I need to power on with my art – the latter is probably the most ideal route to take. I have a few things on my list that I want (and must) do during the remaining time of university and after that, too. I think I’ll write a little list here too as a method of self-motivation. If you’re one of the few people who have followed this blog for a while you will probably recognise my to do lists.

  • draw 151 original pokemon
  • keep studying Japanese
  • learn to drive
  • update my etsy
  • complete preparations for exhibition
  • do a new comic (perhaps for my coursework)
  • bake more

There are also some exceedingly mundane tasks that must be completed:

  • book all my holiday off before May 12th (policy of the supermarket I work for ><)
  • test out a5 digital prints to sell
  • fill in an application form to the shop I want to work in (although it is very popular so there is a low chance of success!)

I can’t really think of more right now, although this spring is certainly a time when people become inundated with lots of work, errands, cleaning and so on… I hope I can succeed. If anyone is reading this far in, what have you got to do? Are you doing alright? Maybe we can motivate each other.

tale for the time beingI’m writing such a long blog post today that I feel like the character from this book… which is one I would recommend. I read it recently, having seen its front cover in Huddersfield’s Waterstones shop and deciding that I needed to buy it…

One thought on “lethargic

  1. Hi gal! I hope you are doing well, and getting things done in the way you want them to before your big show! You’ll do great! Just remember to take at least 5 minutes a day to breathe!

Leave a Reply

