post-exhibition

Hi all…

… so I thought I’d just borrow the photos off my instagram (let’s follow each other on instagram!) to show a little of the exhibition pieces I made. I will probably take a day next week to walk around the whole of the exhibition, taking photos, and then talk about some of my friends’ work and also some favourites too from people I don’t know so well.

If you’ve read my previous posts, you’ll probably know that I worked on a project which involved drawing on lots of sheets of paper as well as completing two bigger drawings.

 So here are the two big drawings… I painted the frames white for the exhibition. The week before the exhibition, when I was framing the portrait drawing, I was putting the glass in and it got caught on part of the frame and shattered! That was very frustrating. I had to run to the framing shop in town to buy some more glass for £10 and run back to the school of art carrying the whole frame (heavy for me)… I’m very glad that the people at the framing shop were able to help me so quickly. In the end I was mostly quite happy with the way these pictures turned out, although one of them was mounted slightly to one side! It’s not noticeable to other people unless I point it out, fortunately. If you want, you can find better resolution images in my deviantART gallery.

As for the forty sheets of drawings, my friend helped me nail each sheet to the wall. Here’s some photos of me awkwardly sitting next to my work, hanging in progress, and complete. I thought it would take a LOT longer to put all my work up, but thanks to the help of friends it was all completed in one day.

So altogether for my exhibition I had forty pieces of paper with drawings on, two big framed drawings, and also a plinth with my digitally printed book. I had originally hoped to be able to sell my book at the exhibition, but as it was printed in full colour the production costs meant that it was unlikely to sell very much and also I did not have enough money to pre-order any! But anyway I suppose I am reasonably satisfied with having put up the exhibition. All the exhibitors, both undergraduate and post-graduate, are being assessed this week. Tomorrow I have my assessment at 10am, and several of us need to come in again on Thursday to be assessed by an external examiner.

Oh, I also wanted to share this photograph of a cute puppy who was present at the exhibition opening afternoon – I got to hold him!

 I’m not really sure why there was a puppy at the event but most people were pretty delighted to see this malamute-husky cross.

So, hopefully this week or next week I will be posting again with more photos of the exhibition – of other peoples’ artwork! I hope you all don’t mind my recent slack with posting. I realise that I have only done nine posts altogether since moving my blog over to wordpress. The infrequent posting is due to having been quite stressed out with the exhibition work, as well as working at the supermarket and maintaining a slightly pathetic social life along with that. After these two assessments on Wednesday and Thursday, plus having to print ten more etchings for a print exchange, my main focus over the three summer months will be to prepare for the final exhibition in September. I would like to say that, since we will not have any written assignments, I will be able to post more over summer, but we will see! I will try my best.

I also hope you all don’t mind the flat tone in which I write. I would really like to write with more emotion and flair but I am quite tired at the moment and you probably also know (from my work and writing) that I am prone to feeling bad for little reason at all, so that probably adds to it. Also I get a bit scared about revealing how I am actually feeling sometimes because family read my posts and I don’t want to worry them.

I suppose a good way to end this would be to briefly mention a few interesting and/or nice things that have happened over the past weeks.

  • Two people whom I lived with during the last academic year came to visit and see the exhibition. It was really nice to be reunited with them and I’m so glad that they liked my recent art too.
  • I met some new people while out celebrating the exhibition with my friends. One of them I had met briefly before. My good friend (one who visited) and I talked to this person for perhaps an hour or so and he was funny and we were amazed at how well he was able to talk about academic subjects while he seemed to be super inebriated.
  • My Japanese textbook arrived from white rabbit press in Japan. I’m looking forward to studying from it and I want to improve a whole lot more, because I still feel like a beginner!

I hope I can study lots over the summer and eventually progress to studying at roughly N3 level, a middle level of the Japanese language proficiency test. I don’t think I want to take any of the JLPT levels for a long time but I like to use it as a way for gauging what kind of grammar I should be learning.

I think it’s probably time to go now; I will likely walk home from the school of art after this, cook some food, maybe study, maybe play computer games (skyrim!) and plan for the next two weeks. As for plans for the next exhibition, I have a few but I’m not sure.

So, next time – photos of my friends’ work!

Good bye from Elysia

One thought on “post-exhibition

  1. It’s been a while… – Elysia's Art/Personal Blog

Leave a Reply

