postpost exhibition (summer begins)

Dear all,

so the exhibition has taken down. As I said, I did have a leisurely wander around to look more at the work, but I didn’t do the whole photo taking thing… luckily for those who are interested, there are loads of photos of students’ exhibition work on Vera’s blog, here and here. And again there’s some reviews and stuff on Siobhan’s blog too. Thanks for writing such kind and encouraging things about my work, Sivy!

Since my last post I’ve been doing extra hours at the supermarket and have also been feeling quite tired. I didn’t draw for a few days because I didn’t feel so inspired, but I have started drawing again and feel refreshed.

zines

While doing my extra hours at work, I attempted to be semi productive by drawing mini zines from a4  paper which I borrowed. I made one a day… I’m trying to make this a more regular thing as I think that it helps me to manage my mood swings during the shifts. Usually around late afternoon I start to feel bad – probably because it’s the middle of my shift and also I think it’s when I start to get hungry again. So drawing these helps me to stop thinking sad thoughts and focus on drawing, which probably means that I am less gloomy looking for customers. Below is one I did yesterday.

Today while I was at work, I forgot to pick up an a4 sheet of paper, so I found an old envelope under the till which I used to draw.

Now I won’t have work until a small 5 hour shift on Wednesday evening. For Monday and Tuesday, I’m not sure how to occupy myself. Since many people from my course have left university and I don’t have specific lessons to attend, I feel a bit lost. Fortunately there are still some of us left in this town so hopefully I won’t feel lonely. The next thing to do on my list is probably working out what I will do for the September exhibition. As you may know already, I don’t really enjoy planning art projects; I just like to do them and see what happens… but I suppose I will need at least a little bit of a plan, so I don’t drift off into obscurity. At the moment I am looking at the work of Cy Twombly and also rediscovering Jean Michel Basquiat…

I always feel awkward with words when talking about other artists, but I feel like in a way my recent exhibition piece was in a similar vein to Basquiat’s work (probably just because it contained really colloquial text scrawled as part of the image)…

I was about to say “I’m not sure how to end this blog post, so…” but I just remembered to write that at the end of last week I put loads of old work out on a table in the school of art and tried to sell some of it… I expected to make only £5 but made £101.50! So that makes me feel a bit positive about the future, even though it’s not really going to be a regular, consistent business.

photo of shop

Here’s a photo of my work in my shop! It was simple, not flashy at all, just little paper placards denoting the price. I liked having the shop. Artist Claes Oldenburg made his own ‘shop’ in 1961 Manhattan, which was a piece of art in itself… and it’s something I really would like to do. Creating a DIY style artists’ shop – possibly in a collective. Anyway, now I’m probably rambling a little. I’m going to end this now and read some blogs which I’ve not had a chance to read for a while!

Thank you for reading,

Elysia

PS: I forgot to make my to do list here.

  1. work on my Ladyquest zine submission, deadline late July.
  2. enter the Sheffield International Artist’s Book Prize (wow, long name), deadline July 31st.
  3. enter the Rabley Drawing Centre’s sketchbook exhibition, deadline June 21st.
  4. maybe enter Jerwood Drawing Prize, deadline 17th June.
  5. Make work to sell in the CCS charity shop (a local thing).
  6. Make a print to enter Hong Kong exhibition, deadline 10th June.
  7. Apply for CAC residency.
2 thoughts on “postpost exhibition (summer begins)

  1. I love your art, and it was so nice to see it again! I think you drawing while at work is a good thing! Especially if it helps your mood during work hours! =) Smart thinking!

    I think the exhibition in September will be good too, just try and be active and work one step towards it at the time. You managed to fulfill this one, didn’t you? And it turned out great as it seems!

    And I’ve no problems understanding how you made £101! you should stop underselling your work!

Leave a Reply

