slow days

photo

My sister sent me this picture which I drew in primary school. I apologise that nothing has really come up over the past week and however long that I last posted… I have been steadily working on my exhibition stuff, so I have been producing a lot of mini zines both at work in the supermarket and when at home too. Lots of people have left the town as they’ve finished their degrees and have gone back to their hometowns. Fortunately there are still a handful of us left. Regardless of this I have been feeling lonely almost all the time as well as feeling unsatisfied with my work despite making significant progress.

Making art is supposed to be my passion so when I find myself feeling so restless while drawing I worry. I wonder if once I finish this masters degree the pressure will be removed and I will feel more relaxed. Maybe.

After this point in the post I actually wrote a super personal couple of paragraphs but then I realised it was actually making me feel worse so I’ve deleted those paragraphs. Instead I think I should make a list of short term, achievable goals that I can work towards to distract myself from the terror of the future.

  1. I want to make some cute trading cards and stickers to sell cheaply at my exhibition along with my zines. I like the idea of stuff being affordable for people, as well as having original drawings to sell.
  2. I want to make some fan-art of Adventure Time, various animes, Pokémon and other things to relax.
  3. I want to work more often in a communal space so that I don’t feel so lonely.

Over the next week I’ll try and work on these goals. Unfortunately I’m working nine hours (one hour of which is an unpaid break) on Thursday but apart from that I do not have any other plans during the week. I also hope I can sell some work to save up to maybe get some sort of mini games console because I’d really like to play Animal Crossing: New Leaf. Although I know this is just a phase I’m going through so we’ll see how I feel in a week!

a sketch from my work shift

Once more, thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

