exhibition frustration

Greetings,

it’s again been a while, thanks to home trips and working on my exhibition. Unfortunately, my exhibition work hasn’t gone as well as I had hoped. Recently I’ve been trying to create little trading cards of female role models and fictional characters (as mentioned before) through screenprinting. My tutors helped me expose the screens to UV light in order to transfer my photocopied images, but apparently the liquid emulsion used to coat the silk screens wasn’t working well, so most of the screens I tried to use failed. The fourth attempt worked, but I wasn’t aware about some of the details of screenprinting and some of the images got damaged =( so out of six attempts, one was ruined by me and the other five were just dodgy. I’m not sure when I’ll get to try again on exposing the screens, because my tutors aren’t often in the university over summer.

So, the problems with waiting around and then failing with screen printing, plus not actually knowing what I’m doing for the exhibition really… are my frustrations right now. I really hope things will get better. I don’t know if my idea will be loved or hated by my assessors, but I think I should just keep on going and hope. If they don’t like it, then maybe I won’t get such a good mark, but at least by then I will have finished and will be able to start on projects that don’t stress me out so much.

I think I should mention some positive things as well now, because a focus of this blog is to feel better. Lately I’ve been listening to Welcome to Night Vale, a podcast. It is a community radio station for a fictitious desert town, where all sorts of strange sci fi and H P Lovecraft style misadventures take place. It has some great characters and always makes me laugh. I have listened to all the current episodes (it’s ongoing, thankfully), so I really hope I can find some more podcasts to fill the void. I don’t think I’ll be able to find anything quite like WTNV but I’ll be on the lookout. Maybe I could find some audiobooks. Anyway, if you’re interested in any of the following things, I recommend you have a listen… start from the beginning, though. Here is a list: sci fi, conspiracy, the surreal, creepy stories, low but gently voiced narration, morbid humour, etc.

To end with a positive note on art as well, I have a lot of ideas for things I want to do post-university and I also bought a sticker making machine for my exhibition and also for creating cool stickers to sell online. I’ll be working on a proper online shop soon!

Thank you for reading, always, and if you see this Lise, I will catch up with your blog soon! Unfortunately have been too busy travelling, waiting around and having difficulties with art to have a proper read…

Take care all.

3 thoughts on “exhibition frustration

  1. Haha, aww you are the sweetest Elysia! ❀ I've been missing your blog posts! It's a shame about those failed screen prints, but they say that if you never fail you'll never succeed! πŸ˜€ cliche, I know, but I finally had a cause to use that one πŸ™‚ The pod seems interesting, I'll see if I'll have a listen when I get bored! I am on my way to Scotland right now, might have loads of time then πŸ˜›
    P.S Stickers seems cool! Will you make a post about that? I'd love to see how you make 'em!

    • Hope you had lots of fun with your trip! Aren’t you doing to Sweden too? My sticker maker arrived just yesterday so I can photograph the process πŸ˜‰ xxxx

      • I’m so slow! Sorry! Yeah, going to Sweden next week! How is your sticker making going? Can’t wait to see how they turn out! I’ll have to buy one of your stickers one day! πŸ˜€ I am sure it’ll be fantastic!

Leave a Reply

