Art Update

Hi world,

I thought it’s time to update on all the different bits of art I have been doing in the run up to the exhibition. I have already written vaguely on what I planned for the exhibition, but I think I’ll post some more actual examples of my work.

The first part of my work involved making my own versions of magazines which we sold at the supermarket where I worked (up until Sunday 18th August). I drew my magazines in order to poke fun at and also expose some of the quite misogynistic attitudes encouraged in things like gossip magazines, where women’s bodies are examined for sweat patches, cellulite or extra body fat; general women’s magazines, which do about the same and reinforce gender stereotyping; lads mags (need I say more) and so on. Although I have to add a disclaimer here that I just made the car magazine for fun and actually have never opened a magazine about cars. Sometimes I exaggerated the text found in the various magazines, copied it outright (there are some ridiculous headlines in The Sun, for example) or gender swapped the photos in the magazines. For me, a part of this was a way for me to disarm the more unsavoury magazines, which make me feel uncomfortable in a normal newsagent/shop situation.

I also made some other zines which feature some drawings, advice, book reviews and so on.

tumblr_ms54vqXz8f1s4l6c1o1_500

I bought a couple of display stands from eBay and will be putting them up on a table for my exhibition. Also you may remember I drew a load of portraits of female role models, fictional characters, etc. I made these into stickers, which you can see in the most recent post. They have now been put into little coloured packets which will be displayed on the wall.

I cut them out again and left some of the waxy stuff on the edges so they would be easy to peel off.

There are also some miscellaneous sticker designs too, some of which I drew, others were cut out from the Japanese magazine, Zipper.

I’ve also been drawing on found bits of cardboard and old boxes, and I’m not entirely sure about how this will all fit in, so I will have to give more information about that soon! Since we have to explain how our work all fits together at our assessment, I’m planning on drawing out a diagram which explains the various influences and interests which have converged in order for me to create my current work. I suppose I could photograph it and put it on here. I know it might seem like something a teenage girl would do (doesn’t all my work seem like that, hoho?) but I get really nervous in my assessments, because the head of the department usually attends, so it would do me well to have some sort of prompt to explain myself.

Lastly, since I quit my job in order to focus on my art work, I’ve had a little bit more time to work on other things. Here are two commissions I’ve been lucky enough to work on. I also have a collaborative project to work on with my friend, but I am really nervous about my ability to create something that goes with her work, so I haven’t yet attempted it. Once I’ve dusted off the tattoo commission perhaps I will get myself into gear and start on the collaboration. Also, having been reading lots of comic books lately I am considering continuing where I left off on my previous comics projects. Perhaps after finishing university I can create a sort of autobio comic which focuses on the journey to becoming a paid artist. This is what I originally envisaged for my first comic book project but I ended up staying in education another year!

Other stuff on my post-uni to do list includes: a website, sorting out a shop (which is in progress), reading loads of books and learning to use Adobe Illustrator…

Anyway, I hope you all didn’t mind such a long post, I just wanted to make sure everything was up to date. Also my parents keep asking me to put more work up, so hopefully this will satisfy them. Perhaps after the exhibition I can make some posts featuring my friends’ art work in order to promote them, too.

Thank you as always for reading.

3 thoughts on “Art Update

  1. I don’t know anything about Yu Gi Oh but I love that commission drawing! Your fake mags are great too, such a worthy cause, awareness must be raised *nods head approvingly*

  2. So much greatness! I love the commision pieces that you’ve made! And I think the stickers are great! I really like how they look, what do you feel about them your self? Are you happy with them? Did you just make the covers for the magazines, or did you make insides for them too? I remember making newspapers with the neighbouring girls when I was a child, it was sooo much fun! When is your next show?

    • Thanks for all the kind feedback! I’m fairly happy with the stickers I guess 🙂 I want to make more but until I finish at uni I don’t have time~ there are so many other things I could draw for sticker designs…. as for the magazines, yes they have insides as well and they each took quite a long time to produce because I spent a lot of time thinking about what to write in each and how to illustrate them! They took a lot of energy! Cool that you used to make newspapers! Me too :3 …. and the show is on the 16th october, eek! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

