Preparations

Hiii,

This is just a short post to write what I’ve been up to in the run up to the convention for which I feel quite unprepared. People who I have on ‘fb’ will already know that I have been trying to make hand stitched felt badges for the convention. This was actually inspired by seeing hanaletters‘ shop on etsy. I really loved her work and wanted to try out something crafty. But with different designs of course! Her brooches are super and you should have a look. I hope that I can buy some brooches from her shop one day soon. I don’t really wear jewellery very much but I still admire them…

Since I am just learning I’ve been making fairly simple designs, both of cartoon characters and my own ones. I hope they are of an acceptable standard for selling at the convention. I tried hard, and learned a lot from these small things, so even if they don’t sell well I don’t think it’ll be a loss. I can give some of them to my friends as well!

Since I took these photos I’ve made a few more designs. I hope that when I gain more skills that I can create more complex and inventive designs. Other things I’ll be selling at the convention include zines and stickers that were made for my previous exhibition, plus a few greetings cards which I made ages ago and didn’t sell. They’ll be going cheap. I think my work will look unprofessional and messy but it is my first convention and I haven’t had the time to dedicate to it. Okay, well, maybe I have, but I didn’t take it seriously until a week or so ago. I will learn for next time.

As for my other projects, I’ve done page two of the comic for the game (in a previous post), I finished my family portrait commission (see below) and have started a bit on the poetry book project with a friend, but this week has mostly been dedicated to my job and preparing for the convention in between. After the con I hope to dedicate more time to these exciting projects once again.

Family Portrait

Over the past couple of days, I haven’t drawn much and have disappointed myself a little in that respect, so today armed with a sketchbook at work I started a new drawing. I hope to do some more when I go for my 5-11pm shift soon. I’d like to create a couple of new series of work and hopefully will develop and share soon! I’ve taken to keeping a personal tumblr of ideas and recorded thoughts for my own reference. Perhaps I’ll share it, but it’s just nonsensical words.

Thank you as always for reading and hope you are all well

 

xxx

Leave a Reply

