Thought Bubble Convention

I am sorry to say this but my camera wasn’t charged enough so I did not get good pictures of the convention! I will however supplement my photos with stuff off the internet and apologies mixed in. Oh, and I can take photos of the things I bought!

leeds thought bubble convention

Photo from The Guardian.

Where to start… so last Friday (22nd) I headed on the train to Leeds, for the convention beginning 10am the next day. I prepared most of my ‘wares’ the week earlier so all I had to do was price the felt badges after checking with people about what price would be appropriate. As usual, I probably underpriced my work. I sold the Jake (from Adventure Time) badges for £4 and the other badges were mostly the same or lower… apart from the wolf badge which I sold quite quickly for £6. Perhaps a sign to produce more! I’d decided not to price them very expensive as I am really new to crafting. When I’ve made more maybe I can price them up a bit more for putting on the etsy shop, once that’s set up. Not much higher though…

On the morning of the convention, I arrived at 9.30am with my friends Corinthia and Luke. We set up really quickly ’cause we accidentally arrived later than most others. I felt pretty embarrassed with my stock, as I felt like I hadn’t given myself enough time to create relevant items… and I was unhappy with the quality of the work – no change from usual then 🙂

badges

The giraffe badge was for me by my friend Vera, and the Espeon badge I bought from Amai Studio’s stall in Thought Bubble.

 

The first day was good, it mostly involved sitting at our shared table, talking to the occasional customer who walked by and browsed. Actually getting to walk around the convention was really exciting because there were so many stalls. There were three halls to explore, and lots of friendly artists. I bought a few presents for Christmas, comics, badges and stickers to send to people by post… I also bought a lot of stickers for myself.

cute sticker

I don’t normally buy lots of cute stuff, but I really like the way the hair was drawn 🙂

cute sticker

The colours are really nice too. I don’t want to stick these on anything though, I want to keep them…

I met a nice couple of people running a stall in another area, they had feminist slogans and quotes from TV shows on their items. I hope I can see them again! Not sure whether I appeared to be a crazy enthusiastic desperate person looking for companionship or just a nice artist person. Hopefully the latter.

lsp card

Here is one of their cards for sale… you can find more on their facebook page.

 

The second day was pretty much the same, with more meeting of nice people. Gemma Correll was selling at a table, but I was too shy to go up and tell her how great she is, maybe next time! I also was fortunate to get to meet Fiona of Fiona Creates, a cool illustrator who also put work in to Ladyquest zine. It was great to hear about her experiences setting herself up as a freelancer and I hope that with the motivation she gave me, I can work a little harder and progress too.

By the end of Sunday I had made about the same as my train fare in cash. Taking back £60+ from a shared table at a comic convention without actually having any comics to sell seems fairly good to me. I’m sure more established and better prepared people would make a lot more money, but I will try to prepare more next time and hopefully at the next opportunity my work will fit in better.

Hope you all don’t mind that this was quite a wordy post, I just thought I should document the weekend for myself and anyone who happens to be interested (I’m sure that reading this journal isn’t for everyone though, and that’s fine too).

Leave a Reply

