Two weeks later

Oho… it’s been a while … Well, just two weeks, so I thought I’d update a little bit. I can’t remember if I mentioned it in my previous post, but a few weeks ago I was with my friend in the town centre. There’s a giant new library and culture centre of some sort which opened perhaps two months ago. I thought that since I’m looking for an arts job I could volunteer to get some experience. I asked them and they took my name down. They later emailed me with a list of events and a schedule, and I am now working there every Friday from 10-1pm. I also managed to sign up for a day’s paid work, packaging some books for a local artist. The pay was £7.90 an hour which is more than my usual job, so I hope they have more opportunities again soon.

book pile

There were 1000 books and we had to put plastic covers on them and slip index and interview booklets into the inside covers. We didn’t manage to do all of them.

Yesterday while I was at the gallery, they asked me to research contacts for the local Portuguese community, as well as researching two bands, which will be playing at a future exhibition. The bands were hard to find as they seem to be independent. There were no fan-run websites for them or anything. I did manage to find an interview for one of the bands, but it is in Portuguese with only French subtitles. So one of my tasks next week may be to translate the subtitles (I know French to a reasonable level, but not fluent) to try to glean more information for the gallery. It’ll probably be a difficult task, but hopefully they will be happy with me if I succeed!

In other news, I finished the illustration I was working on for my friend’s fantasy writing. It took a while because I felt pretty clueless on how to create the work. My friend sent me a file which had several different short stories in it. I picked one and tried my best to illustrate it.

… Actually, I just went on my tumblr to get a copy of the finished image and then saw that a couple of people have offered me constructive criticism on the work in progress shots. The suggestions are useful and now I wish I had seen them sooner. I already announced to my friend that the image is finished… Below is the illustration in its current form.

Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 12.05.33

In screenshot form as if to say… “I can still change!”

I feel undecided as to whether to continue to work on it or to just leave it as it is. On one hand I agreed to do this illustration for a small amount of money so I am not sure I want to pour more hours into perfection, and on the other I am afraid that I will be labelled a sloppy or bad illustrator because I won’t push everything to perfection.I am still learning, so maybe I will experiment more with this picture to see how it can be improved. I feel embarrassed to post a ‘final’ image of it… Now I wonder, have I written too much about my drawing worries? No, I think it’s probably good that I’ve written about them. I like to write about my challenges and confusions. Any advice is appreciated, although preferably written politely.

Well, this is a long post so far… and lastly, I am still working on the zine (if you’d like to join in just comment and I’ll give you more information) I mentioned, as well as the collaborative book project AND the game design project. While playing a few hours too many of video games… Over the next few days I will try to push to get my to do list completed!

zine cover image

2 thoughts on “Two weeks later

Leave a Reply

