Sort your life out

It’s been a while since my last post and I have come to the decision that I need to play less computer games and spend more time dedicated to art. I also nearly wrote… and languages, but I think for the most part I have been spending an OK amount of time studying Japanese and occasionally revising French vocabulary (need to revise grammar though too). If my parents are reading this they’ll probably give a small cheer of victory that I won’t be playing as much, although since I’ve been working extra hours at the takeaway I’ve not really played much anyway.

I need to do more art and be a bit more dedicated to at least trying to somehow sell my work. I have very little confidence however and am afraid of dedicating myself to making work because I worry people will not ever be interested. Also I’m not really sure of what to draw and that worries me too. I am afraid.

One of my great friends started working towards selling her work, and seeing her progress made me realise how I’ve barely made any efforts in this and it is definitely something I would like to do. I just feel clueless and aimless and I don’t know who I am half the time. I definitely don’t know what I want either. So anyway I’m writing this blog post so that I can give myself a list of small achievable goals which can build towards a career in art, as well as helping me to enjoy artwork again. I want to enjoy it more than video games, I want to make it so I’d rather be painting and turning away from my work is a chore. Is that something that is possible or do you have to feel like that already? I was like that before.

  1. Create some new artwork for portfolio – perhaps a series of illustrations – character illustrations, work for my friend’s music project. I could make a list of types of work to feature in portfolio.
  2. Do some lino prints, smaller ones for cards and little prints and larger more complicated ones. I want to make some ramen bowl prints. To achieve this I may want to buy a bench hook to prevent cutting off bits of my fingers while carving blocks.
  3. Be in some sort of artist collective in order to have peers to turn to, group projects to work towards, etc.
  4. Learn some more useful skills through skillshare – like how to use Illustrator and InDesign.
  5. Actually make my website… I’ve started coding it although I need to sort out the CSS bit.
  6. Create a better working environment/deskspace.
  7. I would like to start oil painting too.

Maybe the next list here should be all the things I think I should include in the portfolio. I hope you all don’t mind that this is a personal post. If there are any people who are in a similar situation, any advice? Or people who have already been able to start making a living in art..?

2 thoughts on “Sort your life out

  1. Wooh! I like it! I think that once you get started again, properly started again, you’ll revive your old enjoyment with art and seeing that as better than playing games (I play games too! So not a hater).
    We’re all afraid, but just like you told me, just push through it. Fear and shame is the swamp land of the mind, it’s not really a place you want to settled down into, it’s just an area you put on some high boots and walk through it!

    As for your list, it looks good, a bit daunting for me 😀 So I’d suggest you put up a smaller list too, one long time like the one you wrote, but one also for short term goals. Weekly if possibly. How much should you achieve and produce in a week? How much game time should you reduce? What should you do this or that week to find artistic communities?

    And P.S I love reading about other artists fears and struggles, and not only reading about their successes.

Leave a Reply

