About Time

Dear friends,

Thank you for your patience, it’s been a long while since my last post. The reason for this is that I ended up getting a job teaching English in Morioka, which is in Japan. I knew for quite a while that I would be moving but was reluctant to write about it because I was very nervous and there were also lots of issues sorting out my visa.

But anyway, I’m here. I flew to Tokyo on 11th August and spent three nights at my friends’ apartment. After that I took the very expensive Shinkansen (bullet train) to Mizusawa, where my new boss lives. I spent a couple of nights there with another new teacher from Canada, and then on the 17th we moved into our new apartments on the same block.

I started work on the 19th. Today is the beginning of my second work week. I’m on my lunch break now, sorting out laundry and emails. After this I’ll have a short nap and then in about fifty minutes I’ll start getting ready for work again. I’ll be working til 8.50 pm today. My hours are very varied.

So I guess this is just a short post explaining what’s been going on. What can you expect for the future of this blog? Well, the subject matter will definitely be changing, although I still want to be involved in art. My contract is a year and after that I want to dive into the art world with much more vigour. So I’ll try to keep posting bits and pieces about my life here, for family, friends and whoever else happens to be interested. If you have any questions about moving abroad please just leave a comment and I will answer your questions!

Lastly I did plan on starting a comic based on life here and then ended up being completely overwhelmed. I still have comic plans though so hopefully when things settle down I’ll make it happen. I’ve done some sketches so want to put them up soon. Anyway thank you to all readers xxx

IMG_0091.JPG

IMG_0088.JPG

IMG_0089.JPG

Leave a Reply

