It’s trouser weather!

Dear friends,

This past week has been very busy for me, but I’m happy to say that now it’s Sunday and I’m on my two days off. Then, on Tuesday, we finally get paid… of course, from Tuesday onwards we will be at work all day and I usually finish at 8pm or later, so I won’t be able to spend that beautiful yen… however next Sunday my fellow teacher and I will go on a Treat Yo Self day inspired by Parks and Recreation’s Tom and Donna.

Anyway, Autumn is slowly rolling in and here up in the North East it’s finally the weather for trousers, jumpers and cardigans! I’m excited to start wearing knitwear and tights although I will definitely miss being able to walk around in shorts and sandals. I’m hoping to pick up a chunky cardigan next weekend since I only have one small, thin cardigan from Uniqlo. Up here it gets to -10c sometimes and there is frequent snow. I know it’s not that cold compared to my Norwegian friends’ -30c winters, but it’s colder than back home!

My Japanese is progressing nicely, although I’d like to put more effort into it. I found the international centre last weekend and I signed up for them to look for a language ‘supporter’ for me. And just today I went back there, found some advert for somebody wanting to meet English speakers and sent them an email. Mostly because I fear that my social life will be non-existent for 11 months unless I force myself to make some friends…

Hey, did I ever show a picture of my completed donut? Please see below, along with my as of yet unfinished hot cross bun. I hope to do some more needle felting tonight. I’m not sure what to do next. I wanted to do a pretzel but maybe that would be too difficult?

a needle felted donut with cream icing and brown sprinklesneedle felted hot cross bun Hmmm… I started writing this post early in the morning of today, and now it is 5pm and I’m not sure what else to add to this. In a bit I’ll head to my colleague’s flat to watch something or other. I’m not sure if it will be a film or some episodes, who knows? I’m going to take my needle felting and Japanese text book up so I can do some bits and pieces while watching. I’m not somebody who can sit through a whole film without fidgeting, unless it’s at the cinema…

Anyway I’ll finish up here. I don’t have many plans for tomorrow, except that I have to go in to work briefly to try to understand the office printer before next week starts, as everyone will be expecting me to use it and in my past attempts the printer has decided to eat every piece of A4 paper I carefully fed into its mouth. I hope tomorrow pays off. Aside from that maybe I’ll do some wistful window shopping, the day before pay day. And psych myself up for another busy week ahead before our most exciting indulgence day in a week’s time!

Thank you for reading and support and everything.

E

One thought on “It’s trouser weather!

Leave a Reply

