CALAMITY

Hey friends,

As you may have already read, I’ve been wading through blender3D, learning how to make 3D models. I’m still a beginner of course, and if you want you can always follow my progress on tumblr 🙂

I started learning 3D both for my job and also because I wanted to work on an indie game dev project with my friends. Now, it’s underway! So I want to introduce you to Calamity. If I had to describe it shortly I would say something along these lines: Low poly 3d hide and seek multiplayer with monsters. Be the last one standing. It’s set in a boarding school and you play a student. We’re making it using the game engine called Unity, which is also what I use back at work.

Here's a little Calamity-related sketch that I made recently, just while I was thinking of what kind of 2D art I want to put in the game - e.g. for menus, logos, etc.

Here’s a little Calamity-related sketch that I made recently, just while I was thinking of what kind of 2D art I want to put in the game – e.g. for menus, logos, etc. I actually played with making a mini redbubble shop for stickers and fun Calamity related things.

I would say that we’re still in the early stages of development, but I thought I’d like to share with you all a few bits and pieces. I’m working on it with Boomer and Mikey. Boomer’s the programmer, Mikey’s our music man and I’m the artist. I’ll be dealing with all 3D stuff and 2D artwork too.

So far, I’ve made some sketches and a handful of 3D models to put in the game, e.g. a desk, chair, book, etc. which you can see below.

book

For some reason this book took me ages to work out. I just couldn’t think of a smart way to make a simple book object. I thought about it a lot overnight and then I realised how easy it would be after all. 

desk

A school desk for our students. Perhaps we should give the high school a name?

I’ve intentionally kept them simple, since I’m still learning! I’ve started the model for the player character, but of course it’s taking a little longer to do since it is more complex and will need to be animated in the future. I am using this tutorial series on youtube to learn how to do it.

Calamity Player Character Work in Progress

Our student protagonist – well, there will be a number of students to choose from hopefully – a base body, which I will next unwrap and texture. Then, we will have custom heads with different hairstyles, I hope ^_^

Not all of my models and bits have been implemented in the game, but I will still try get some videos and screenshots to share with you on my next Calamity related post!

I feel excited about it all and want to spend tons of time on it, even though I do find it difficult since I am learning so much new stuff… I’m trying to make sure however that I balance my free time well so that I don’t burn out since work’s pretty busy until March or beyond. My plan is to get lots of bits done that I can eventually improve when I know more.

I’ll keep working at it slowly but surely, and I hope to share my progress with you all. If anyone has any questions though feel free to ask!

Leave a Reply

